The Spanish Federation sets the date for handing over the La Liga Cup to Real Madrid

The Spanish Football Federation announced in an official statement the date of handing over the La Liga Cup to Real Madrid, after a major controversy that arose in recent days.

The Royal Club won the La Liga title in its favor following a 3-0 victory over Cadiz last Saturday, with Barcelona defeating Girona 4-2.

The competition regulations stipulate that the title cup will be awarded to the winner of the next match to confirm his coronation from a mathematical standpoint, but the matter will change this time.

When will Real Madrid receive the La Liga Cup?

According to the Spanish Federation, Real Madrid will not receive the shield after the end of the next match against Granada at Nueva Los Carmenes Stadium on Saturday.

It was scheduled for Sunday, specifically at nine-thirty in the morning, for the La Liga Cup to be handed over to the Real Madrid stars at Valdebebas Stadium, the center of Merengue training.

The president of the Spanish Federation, Pedro Roca, will be present, as will the president of Real Madrid, Florentino Perez, and captain Nacho Fernandez will receive the cup and raise it after its absence from the Spanish capital in last year’s edition.

Why won’t Real Madrid receive the La Liga Cup after the Granada match?

The reason the La Liga Cup was handed over to Real Madrid at Valdebebas Stadium on Sunday instead of Saturday after the end of the Granada match was due to a special request from the Los Blancos management related to “respect.”

If Real Madrid succeeds in achieving victory over Granada, then Granada’s relegation to the second division will be officially confirmed 3 rounds before the end of La Liga.

Real Madrid officials believe that it is “disrespectful” for their team’s players to celebrate at Granada Stadium, while the fans and home players will be in a state of crying and extreme frustration.

Therefore, the Real Madrid administration submitted a request to the Spanish Federation to postpone the delivery of the cup for the Alaves match on Tuesday, or to deliver it in Valdebebas the next day, which was finally approved.

How many times has Real Madrid won the Spanish League title throughout history?

It remains to be noted that Real Madrid is the club that has won the most Spanish League titles, having won the title on 36 occasions, more than any other Spanish club.

Barcelona comes in second place among the most crowned La Liga titles, after the Catalan club won the title 27 times, most recently last season.