Shock in Argentina’s official list for Copa America 2024

The Argentina national team coach announced a list of 29 players to participate in the preparation period before the start of the 2024 Copa America in the United States.

The Argentine national team is scheduled to play two friendly matches in June against Colombia and Guatemala, before the start of the group stage in the Copa America.

The Tango Country list included the presence of Lionel Messi, as his physical readiness was confirmed despite multiple recent injuries, and the name of Inter star Lautaro Martinez was also present.

The biggest surprise, or more precisely the shock, is the absence of Paulo Dybala despite his distinguished season with Roma, as Scaloni preferred to include Manchester United star Alejandro Garnacho.

Dybala is experiencing a distinguished season with Roma, where he played 38 matches in all tournaments, during which he scored 16 goals and assisted 10 others. He is also currently not suffering from any injury, and Scaloni is expected to reveal the reason for the sudden exclusion of the 30-year-old during the next few hours.

It is assumed that the current list will shrink from 29 players to only 26 with the start of Copa America, in which Argentina will participate in a group that includes Canada, Chile and Peru.

Below is Argentina’s list in preparation for Copa America 2024

Goalkeepers: Franco Armani (River Plate, Argentina), Geronimo Rulli (Ajax, Netherlands), Emiliano Martinez (Aston Villa, England).

Defense: Nohil Molina (Atletico Madrid, Spain), Cristian Romero (Tottenham, England), Leonardo Balerdi (Marseille, France), Gonzalo Montiel (Nottingham Forest, England), Germán Bigella (Real Betis, Spain), Lucas Cuatra (Fiorentina, Italy), Nicolas Otamendi ( Benfica, Portugal), Lisandro Martinez (Manchester United, England), Marcos Acuña (Sevilla, Spain), Nicolas Tagliavecchio (Lyon, France).

Midfield: Valentin Barco (Brighton, England), Guido Rodriguez (Real Betis, Spain), Leandro Paredes (Roma, Italy), Alexis McAllister (Liverpool, England), Rodrigo De Paul (Atletico Madrid, Spain), Ezequiel Palacios (Bayer Leverkusen, Germany), Enzo Fernandes (Chelsea, England), Giovanni Lo Celso (Tottenham, England), Valentin Carbone (Monza, Italy).

Attack: Lionel Messi (Inter Miami, USA), Angel Di Maria (Benfica, Portugal), Julian Alvarez (Manchester City, England), Alejandro Garnacho (Manchester United, England), Emiliano Martinez (Inter Milan, Italy), Angel Correa (Atletico Madrid, Spain), Nicholas Gonzalez (Fiorentina, Italy).