Officially… announcing the winner of the Golden Boot 2023-2024

The curtain came down on the 2023-2024 Golden Boot battle at the end of the five major leagues this week, and with it the winner was announced.

The Golden Shoe award is given to the player who scored the most goals in European leagues. The player who scored a goal in one of the major leagues gets two points for each goal, while for less technical leagues he gets only one and a half points.

Bayern Munich striker Harry Kane won the award after scoring 36 goals in the German League, along with obtaining 72 points.

This is the first time in Kane’s history that he has won the award, and he is also the first English player to win the title since the 1999-2000 season after Sunderland striker Kevin Phillips.

Perhaps the surprise was in the name of the second-place finisher, Stuttgart striker Serhou Guirassy, who has scored 28 goals in the Bundesliga this season.

Below is a list of Europe’s top scorers for the past season:

  1. Harry Kane (Bayern Munich) – 36 goals
  2. Serhou Guirassy (Stuttgart) – 28 goals
  3. Kylian Mbappe (Paris Saint-Germain) – 27 goals
  4. Erling Haaland (Manchester City) – 27 goals
  5. Luis Obinda (Leipzig) – 26 goals