Marciniak pays the price.. UEFA punishes the referee

Polish media reported that the European Football Association (UEFA) had decided to punish referee Simon Marciniak for his wrong decision in the Champions League semi-final between Real Madrid and Bayern Munich.

The Polish referee was subjected to severe criticism after he blew his whistle early without waiting for the video technology, and with it he canceled out a goal for Bayern Munich in the last minute, which almost changed the outcome of the Spanish club’s passage to the final match.

According to recent news, Marciniak will pay the price for this mistake, which he immediately admitted at the Santiago Bernabeu, as UEFA’s intention was to assign the opening match of the Euro 2024 competition, which will bring together Germany and Scotland, to him to manage, but it was decided to exclude him from the match.

At the same time, UEFA intends to exclude Marciniak from officiating major matches in the Euro, as well as in European competitions next season, considering that the mistake he committed does not come from a referee who is supposed to be one of the elite referees around the world.

It is worth noting that Marciniak was the one who officiated the 2022 World Cup final between Argentina and France in Qatar, and it is also rare for him to make major mistakes in the summits that he officiated over the past two years.